Rajarata University of Sri Lanka

The Faculty of Agriculture was initiated in 2001 with the aim of developing sustainable agricultural systems particularly focused on the Dry Zone of Sri Lanka by utilizing rural farm settings and natural resources effectively. To achieve this goal, Faculty of Agriculture offers a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (B.Sc. (Agric.) as a special degree, which is a four-year degree programme.

The Bachelor degree programme comprises of semester-based evaluations that consist of eight semesters, during which different courses are offered by the four departments. These four departments are, Agricultural Engineering and Soil Science (ES), Agricultural Systems (AS), Animal and Food Sciences (AF) and Plant Sciences (PS).


Faculty of Agriculture envisions to be a dynamic , innovative and renowned center for excellence in agriculture.


Mission of the Faculty of Agriculture is− to produce innovative and dynamic graduates with sound knowledge and requisite skills towards achieving a sustainable development in Agriculture,through creating a conductive environment for teaching ,learning ,research and dissemination of knowledge



B.Sc.Agric.(P'deniya) Sri Lanka,
M.Phil.(P'deniya) Sri Lanka,PhD.(P'deniya) Sri Lanka

P: +94 252 221 610

F: +94 252 221 610

E: deanagrirusl@yahoo.com

News Highlights

11 February 2016

8th Annual Research Symposium was held on 11.02.2016.

06 January 2016

Inauguration Ceremony of New Intake 2014/2015 was held on 06.01.2016.

09 November 2015

Workshop on Agro-Tourism and Farm Visit was held on 9th and 10th November 2015