Rajarata University of Sri Lanka

About Us

History of the Faculty

On the recommendation of the committee on affiliated University colleges (1994) nine Affiliated University collages spread out in various provinces of the country were merged to from two National Universities , the Rajarata and Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka on 1996. The Affiliated University college of the North Western province which consisted of two academic sections namely; Home science and Nutrition and the Agriculture, originally affiliated to the University of kelaniya and peradeniya respectively, were merged to from the Wayamba Campus of the Rajarata University in terms of the provisions of the section 18 and 47(1) of the University act. No 16 of 1978 and campus board ordinance NO: 3 of 1995.

Two faculties were set up to from the Wayamba Campus namely, the faculty of Agricultural Science and the faculty of Applied Seiences, each with three departments of study. The Faculty of Agricultural Sciences constituted the Department of plantation Management, Horticultural Sciences and Food Technology and Agricultural Engineering. A three year general degree in Agricultural Science was offered.

Later in 1999, a committee was appointed to made recommendations to upgrade the Wayamba Campus to a fully-fledged university. Based on the recommendations of this committee the Wayamba University was established in August 1999. With that faculty of Agricultural Sciences taken over to the Wayamba University in 1999 and Rajarata University looses its Agriculture Faculty.

In year 2001 a new Agriculture Faculty of the Rajarata University was incepted at Puliyankulama closes to ancient Anuradhapura and about ten kilometers away from Mihintale where administration building complex and other sister faculties were located. It was started at a renovated paddy store complex where faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities was located earlier. From the beginning there were three departments namely,

  • Department of Agricultural Systems.
  • Department of Plant Sciences.
  • Department of Soil and Water Resources Management.

A new curricular was designed with the objective of uplifting dry zone agriculture and awarded a B.Sc degree in Agriculture which is a four year special degree.

First batch of 17 students was recruited in 21 April 2001 under the patronage of the first dean of the Faculty of Agriculture at Puliyankulama Prof. S.H. Upasena. From that, three comprehensive curriculum revisions were carried out in 2003,2006 and 2014. The total annual intake is 165 students today.

Welcome to the Faculty of Agriculture, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka

Faculty of Agriculture, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka was established in 2001 and incepted at Puliyankulama, about three kilometers (3) away from ancient city of Anuradhapura and about ten (10) kilometers away from Mihintale where the administration building complex was located. It was started at a renovated paddy store complex where Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities was located earlier. Faculty was established with three departments at the beginning and today consists of four departments namely

  • Department of Agricultural Systems.
  • Department of Plant Sciences.
  • Department of Agriculture Engineering and Soil Science.
  • Department of Animal and Food Sciences.

The Faculty of Agriculture, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka is the leading institute responsible for higher education in Agriculture for Dry Zone of Sri Lanka. Faculty of Agriculture was mainly established at Puliyankulama to develop the sustainable agricultural systems particularly focusing on the Dry Zone of Sri Lanka by utilizing rural farm settings and natural resources effectively. Today, we are proud to be one of the dynamic Faculties teaching Agriculture in the country.

The Faculty is today enriched with necessary facilities to support the academic programs as well as the outreach activities. The Faculty is capable of providing a sound practical training in Agriculture through the Faculty Farm. The faculty farm has a land extent of 32 acres located closer to the Faculty main premises at Puliyankulama (in the Dry Zone,) is mainly used for student training programs of crop production, animal husbandry and research works of students and academic staff. Faculty farm also provides beneficial influence to uplift the knowledge on the farming activities of neighbouring farmers so as to favour the dissemination of agricultural knowledge. The Faculty presently offers one degree program of four year duration namely Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (B.Sc. (Agric.) as a special degree. The total annual student intake to the Faculty through the UGC is 155 and the total student population is about 500. A semester based course unit system is adopted to run the academic program. The Faculty is well equipped with human resources (46 permanent academic staff and 75 academic support staff) to ensure the best quality of the teaching and training offered by the Faculty. Our graduates are fitted to a wider range of disciplines because of the multi-disciplinary nature of the academic programs. In addition to the subject knowledge, a balanced training in communication skills, computer & IT skills and life skills development to meet the needs of the modern society are included in the academic program. Faculty offers formal advisory and counselling programs, financial support for needy students and many others. I am pleased to say that all students are provided with in campus accommodation facilities throughout the whole academic program which is unique to Rajarata University of Sri Lanka.

The employability of our graduates is very high because of the versatile curriculum (wide range of subject knowledge) and the unique training that we offer to our students. According to my experiences, our graduates compete with other agriculture graduates and always dominate in the job market and do not find much difficulty in finding employment both in private and public sectors. Even though faculty has a short history, our graduates are employed everywhere in the country covering almost all the sectors.

I am very proud of the faculty, academic and non-academic staff and students that they have accomplished. I look forward to work with them and all our stakeholders as we try to make a difference in the field of Agriculture.

Dr. AMJB Adikari
Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka

Faculty Board

  • Dean
  • Heads of Departments
    •      Agricultural Engineering & Soil Science
    •      Agricultural Systems
    •      Animal & Food Sciences
    •      Plant Sciences
  • All permanent academic staff
  • Coordinator of ELTU
  • Assistant Registrar
  • Members on invitation
    •      Assistant Librarian
    •      Computer Instructor
    •      Farm Manager
    •      Two student representatives